My pantry’s Dream Team

In the interest of full disclosure here, lemme go ahead and let y’all know what the whatall I usually always have around the kitchen. These aren’t necessarily recommendations, but let’s be honest: if it works for me, there might very well be a good chance you’ll want to stock up on something here. These are your fallback guys to victory in the game of healthy deliciousness. Conversely, I am open to interviewing additions to this list if’n you got a say.

  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Vegetable ghee (new as a “staple,” but am I ohsoglad it came into my life. we will discuss the merits of this over butter another day.)
  • Canned tomatoes (diced, crushed and/or paste)
  • Rice (giant bags of Basmati come cheap at your local Indian supermarket)
  • Dried pasta
  • All kindsa dried beans*
  • Canned broth (chicken. beef and/or vegetable)
  • Garlic paste, powder and/or whole fresh
  • Spices. Lots of spices. I would say I was indiscriminate about it but it’s public record that I believe cumin smells like third-world poverty.
  • *Asafoetida, also known colloquially (by me) as “FART POWDER.” You would eat more beans if it weren’t for the symphony provided by that musical fruit? That much fiber makes you crampy? Tell your excuses to suck it.
2 responses to “My pantry’s Dream Team

  1. do you buy vegetable ghee at any supermarket? and are you saying you LIKE cumin or not??

Leave a Reply

