My First Spinach Smoothie

In my pantry today:

  • 1 c raw spinach leaves
  • 1 medium carrot, chopped into equally medium chunks
  • 1 c fresh strawberries
  • 1 c fresh blueberries
  • 1 tbsp agave syrup
  • 1 c water

 Somehow being a responsible adult about my diet has found my refrigerator almost too full of produce (thank you, food stamps!*). I cannot and will not let any of it go to rot — I want those nutrients in my body, not in my trash can. Seeing as how I have no juicer or blender, I figured the food processor I got for making Christmas nut butters would work just fine. I did do a little preliminary research on what kinds of things went into these kinds of things, and ended upon a delicious success. Throw everything up there on that list in a food processor or like device and pulse until its individual parts are indistinguishable. Packed full of health and tasting of nothing but berries, I give this a thumbs up for taste and nutrient value (I had a glass today before my morning coffee!); it also deserves another shot on improving the texture. More pulsing, perhaps? I blame the strawberry seeds.

*I would like to note that I did, after many months of Bureaucratic hiccups, finally get my South Carolina EBT card. Now, it ain’t like winning the lottery but it will probably make my recipes here slightly more healthy — I hope you’ll be seeing more vegetables and fewer processed foods in the ingredient lists. In fact, the morning after receiving my card in the mail I went to City Roots and bought a medium share in the spring harvest. In April I will start getting weekly bushels of locally-grown produce. Again, I must ask myself, “Who are you and what did you do with my nucleus accumbens?”

Leave a Reply

