Trial by Butcher Knife

In my pantry today:

  • 15 lbs exhaustion
  • 1 green apple, diced
  • 1 tbsp reserved bacon grease
  • 1 package Near East Whole Grain (Roasted Pecan and Garlic)
  • 1 16 oz can chicken broth
  • 2/3 c cooked white beans
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 4 cloves of garlic, smashed ‘n diced
  • 1 tsp asafoetida

Oh man, I did not know where to start today.

Moderate MS fatigue still includes use of the limbs and does not mitigate the human need for food, so I opened the fridge and began dicing whatever might go bad earliest. I initiated a pan with onion and garlic in the bacon grease then began dicing the apple — and that’s where the exhaustion comes further into play, because this entire recipe got wildly better when I accidentally began bleeding all over the cutting board.  Losing use of one thumb to the butcher knife during the apple-dicing thereby rendered Napa cabbage prepping impossible (or at least wildly implausible). We had to go in another direction… one of little fine motor skills. Like a box of something.

Enter the broth and whole grain pilaf. Honestly, I hadn’t been certain what I’d do with the Near East product but it had sounded so delicious during a hungry-in-the-grocery-store moment. But pecans? Apples go with those! It was time to experiment.

I added a can of chicken broth to the pan and stirred in the beans (cooked for this recipe and living now in the Leftover Loft), then brought it to a boil and added the box-o-grains. It was at this point I just followed the box directions for the pilaf, as I was done trying original ideas. The gauze and scotch tape I found to cocoon my thumb may be soppin’ ass wet with chicken broth and blood but great measures my friends, great measures were taken to remove all the bloody apple chunks from the pan. There will be disappointment for any sanguinarians who show up on my doorstep tonight.

Even without the blood and with cognitive decline, this gets 3 solid spoons. 4 if you don’t normally hate green apples.

Leave a Reply

