Bacon Soft Tacos with Mandarin-Cilantro Kaleslaw

In my pantry today:

  • 1 lb thick-cut bacon
  • 1/4 c fresh cilantro, minced
  • 1 c shredded kale
  • 1/2 c shredded cheese (I’m using something called “Fiesta Blend”)
  • 6 or so flour tortillas
  • 1/4 c mandarin vinaigrette
  • 1/4 tsp cumin
  • 1/2 tsp hot red chili powder
  • 1 tsp Fiesta chili powder
  • 2 tbsp onions, minced
  • 2 diced roma tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp sour cream

I’m having a tough day (y’know, the stupid disease) so we’re gonna try to keep this quick. Please tell me you already know how to cook bacon and dice things up (I’m betting you do). This is mostly going to be a post about the “kaleslaw,” for, lo, it was good:

Mince Kale along a parallel, then perpendiculize its ass a time or two. I sliced about 1/2 cm along a parallel to shred, then I gave a couple minces across the grid in my mind (so as to, as they say, “perpendiculize”). Immediately massage the vinaigrette into the lil lengths, then set aside. Mince your cilantro and toss it in with the seasonings listed above then let the whole mess marinate for a few hours. Upon the dining hour, layer bacon with cheese, onions, and tomato then top with kaleslaw to taste. Oh, and sour cream to taste.

This recipe allows for a great deal of bacon grease to reserve; as close to animal-free as my diet wants to become (and the more I cannot abide the thought of eating large slabs of flesh), it can’t argue with fat (in small amounts) being flavor. And did you know, sweet readers, that bacon could ever be made more delicious? It apparently is so: the sweetness and spice of the slaw went in tandem with bacon’s sweet serenade. I will make this slaw, or more likely just a slaw like it, again. 5 spoons!

 

2 responses to “Bacon Soft Tacos with Mandarin-Cilantro Kaleslaw

  1. I must eat this ASAP! It sounds sooo good!

  2. You had me until “Cilantro”!!!

Leave a Reply

