CSA Whaaaat? (or, “Oh Yes, Updates of Deliciousness to Follow”)

In my pantry today will be my second week’s pickup from the City Roots CSA and I have yet to decide what I will cook with first; rest assured, I will ensure that flavor is involved as a collaborative partner. Want to find a CSA in your area? Try LocalHarvest.Org.
Arugula – peppery salad green or great addition to a pizza after its come out of the oven

Carrots – Mokum (orange) and Purple Haze carrots
Kale – This variety has many names Tuscano, Lacianato, Dinasour or Cavalo Nero.  This variety has less of a stalk and is perfect for making Kale Chips
Spinach – This variety is Bloomsdale, a slow bolt variety, know for its large crisp leafs
Lettuce – several different varieties
Microgreens – You will receive a bag of Sunflower microgreens and a bag of Zesty Mix (arugula, mustard, sunflower, radish, rainbow chard, beet, purple kohlrabi and red cabbage microgreens)

…Plus I’ve still got broccoli and more kale in the fridge. A veritable week of green is in my home’s future!

7 responses to “CSA Whaaaat? (or, “Oh Yes, Updates of Deliciousness to Follow”)

  1. Looks awesome! I would love for you to come and join my CSA link party 🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2012/05/02/whats-in-the-box-24/. Come check it out!

  2. Love the purple haze carrots — so pretty!

  3. The hardest thing for me to use up is lettuce.

Leave a Reply

