100th Recipe: Ribs! (or, “Suck it, Rice and Sauce Meals!”)

In my pantry today:

  • 2.22 lbs country-style pork ribs
  • 16 oz Kraft® Honey Hickory Smoke BBQ sauce
  • 1/3 c brown mustard
  • 1 tbsp garlic paste
  • 1 tbsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp hot red chili powder
  • 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

It is gorgeous outside today and I had to rescind an invitation for a swimming pool and Dad’s ribs this morning. Within an hour or two, I began yearning for the sloppy southern goodness that can come only from covering specific parts of another animal in delicious sauce. It seems fitting, really, to have something decadent and celebratory for post #100; I’m doing pretty well living meatlessly for a girl who a year ago ate, Atkins-stlye, only meat — in fact, I feel so much better for making this switch that my body thanks me by behaving less like a spoiled toddler. I certainly don’t label myself a vegetarian: every now and then I still eat a sausage biscuit or fried chicken. I just want to be up front about all this to any vegetarian readers — when I cook, I try to do it with no animal products. On a budget that’s not always possible, but on a budget it’s terribly helpful to consume less meat.

Back to the ribs.

If these were to be ready for dinner, there was no time to make a completely from-scratch marinade. I used what was available to me and hoped for the best. They went into and were massaged by the above conglomeration of ingredients, were refrigerated for an hour then baked at 225° for 4 hours. A spatula, not a fork, will be needed to remove each of these in one piece… even then, a fat lotta good luck to you! Ribs were served alongside a salad which included these items from the pantry:

  • 1 head summercrisp lettuce
  • 1 large Red Russian kale leaf, torn and marinated in olive oil
  • 1 medium tomato
  • 2 tbsp diced Vidalia onion
  • 1 tbsp salt roasted beets
  • 1 tsp Parmesan cheese
  • homemade balsamic/red wine vinaigrette

A resounding 5 spoons is warranted for this foray into… Fleshtown? Meatsboro? Deliciousville. (Totally Deliciousville.)

Leave a Reply

