Photo Recap of the Weekish

In my pantry today:

  • Photographs of food I’ve been making but not writing about and I’m not going to make having taken them a complete moot point in this often otherwise cruel world.

These wontons began beautifully but ended badly. And that’s a damn shame, because fun ingredients like fresh garlic and sushi ginger began their filling. And then something happened which would then ruin the subsequently beautiful soup I’d made for them.  An unwittingly pureed bean paste teaches me to fold in a whisked egg rather than use the food processor for this step. I was heartily saddened upon the dinning time; these wontons can go to… well, I’ll just positively chalk them up to a learning experience. The soup itself was a delight. And an excellent appetizer for the take out Chinese I immediately offered to purchase in apology.

Because I felt a failure at rocking a delicious vegetarian concept, I thawed a roll of ground sausage. Because you can’t fail with ground sausage. Except this time. To be fair, it was less of an abject failure and more of a “this would be great if it wasn’t missing something” issue.It was still great, and beget the beans for additional recipes.

And then I looked at the tiny container garden on my back porch and did a spit take at the jalapeno plant. I picked a dozen peppers, left plenty behind and then stared at the pile for a few minutes.

I do not like pickled jalapenos. In fact, I really have never cared for most peppers. Cooking them before wasting away inside on the counter was a must. Several ideas arose, but for the moment I boldly went a little TGI Fridays with some leftover sausage-n-corn dip and made poppers. The remaining ten or so peppers were halved, the seeds removed and roasted with a little olive oil, garam masala, turmeric and Greek seasoning. After that they were diced and used in a very spicylicious curry (not pictured, but which utilized those above mentioned white beans and became two days worth of meals).

I’m almost caught up now. Next post is being written — and this forthcoming one’ll get it’s very own at 5 spoons!

Leave a Reply

