Grape-elling With Sweet Reality

In my pantry today:

  • 2 c red grapes
  • 1 c blueberries
  • 1/4 c white sugar
  • 1/3 c white wine
  • 1 c water
  • 1 tsp corn starch
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 3/4 cup oatmeal (any type but instant)

So those grapes that seemed so delicious and friendly because of that sale rack on which they so leisurely reclined? Yeah, over several days the entire bag has gone into just about every room in the house with the best of intentions and I cannot live this lie any longer. Time for a crumble.

Slice the grapes in half but not the blueberries. Put in a cold pan with corn starch mixed into water and white sugar (I have not opened this bag of sugar in nearly a year you guys), add wine and bring to a low boil on M. Reduce heat to ML and stir until thick. Mash together the last four ingredients above to make the topping and dollop on the grapes/blueberries; bake in a 350° oven for 25-30m and serve some hot then serve some cold — 4 spoons!

 

4 responses to “Grape-elling With Sweet Reality

  1. Hi, Neat post. There’s an issue along with your site in internet explorer, might test this? IE still is the marketplace chief and a huge section of other people will pass over your magnificent writing because of this problem.

  2. Hi! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to
    me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely delighted I found it and I’ll
    be bookmarking and checking back often!

  3. First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you don’t mind.
    I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I have had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out.
    I do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend
    to be wasted simply just trying to figure out how to begin.

    Any recommendations or tips? Thanks!

    • Thank you! I don’t have a fast, fool-proof way… often it’s when I am bedbound that I write. It helps me feel less powerless. Sometimes I just happen to be near the computer when a thought hits me. There are a lot of thoughts that might hit when I am nowhere near a computer, but I may or may not remember it later.

Leave a Reply

