Enter the Christmas Basket, 2012

In my pantry today:2012basket2

Instead of actually typing out a list of everything in the 50+lb tupperware bins my brothers and I each received from mom and dad this year, here’s a snapshot of its contents on my kitchen table. To know why this is happening check out last year’s post explaining the wonder of these baskets. In fact, these baskets warrant quoting directly from that post:

You know all those things at World Market or Big Lots you’d like to try but don’t have the disposable income to waste? SANTA’S GOT YOUR BACK! Now, this is not to say my folks are highfalutin and can slap together jaunty foodwealth like this so easily — it is a process in which three equal baskets must be compiled over the weeks or even months before the holidays. My parents are more-than-admirably steadfast in their goal of sibling equality. It is a labor of love, and one for which I will gladly go ahead and clear out some cupboards.

In lieu of writing (and/or then typing) a list of every item, I’ll share a couple photos of some of my favorite individual basket items:

2012basket_bayleaveFlavored (cooking?) Oil: I imagine I understand why this might’ve been on the clearance rack. I mean, I “bay leave” why.

2012basket_ostrim

OSTRIM beef/ostrich “jerkee”: This might be more respectable were it named less like a nightmare about haircuts.

2012basket_larry

 

 

Larry the Cable Guy Cheesy Tuna Dinner: To be fair, not everything in the basket is necessarily intended to be edible. I don’t give two whits what a picture of Larry the Cable Guy tells me to do with my tuna.

One response to “Enter the Christmas Basket, 2012

  1. I love the idea for the Christmas baskets!

Leave a Reply

