Broccoli and Violence (ft. Sesame Quinoa)

In my pantry today:

  • 3 c broccoli florets 
  • 1/2 sweet onion
  • 2 cloves garlicBro
  • 1 packet gravy mix
  • 2 c unsweetened almond milk
  • 1 tsp butter chicken spice mix
  • 1/2 tsp turmeric
  • 1 tsp vegetable ghee
  • 1/2 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 c quinoa
  • 2 drops sesame oil

broccoliandviolenceLife has been a little more dramatic than usual lately and I am not cooking nearly as much as I’d like. Last night I made a loaf of banana bread just to feel alive (in the kitchen, that is), but as I’ve already recently written about banana bread it’d be pretty boring to write about it again so soon (although this time I used caramel extract and added glazed almonds). Instead I’m going to go with the easy thrown together mess tonight offers. So start out that thinly sliced onion and garlic heating in ghee/oil in a pan warming to ML. Mix in the turmeric to color everything orange, let cook for 5m or so.

Turn the burner up to M, throw in the broccoli until bright green. Reduce heat and add in (already mixed with one another) the almond milk, gravy packet and spice mix. Mix everything then cover and continue to cook on ML for 10-50m, or until broccoli reaches your desired level of crunch. Serve over quinoa cooked with two drops of sesame oil in the water, then pull 4 spoons out of the silverware drawer.

8394572713_00a56d19de_kIn terms of proof of my recent drama, how about this: my car window was shot out while the wife and I were driving through a neighborhood that didn’t look bad enough for it. This had certainly never happened to me before but now I can… check it off my bucket list? Now I can praise Jesus, Buddha, Allah and Xenu that the window stopped it before it came through at full force; I narrowly avoided this shot whose perpetrator probably won’t be found.

And on Friday I start a new DMD (“Disease Modifying Drug”) that requires my first dose be monitored for six hours in a doctor’s office because it might dangerously slow my heart rate. discovery_medicine_no_64_volker_brinkmann_figure_4If I clear that hurdle, however, I get to take a pill for MS instead of having to give myself nasty injections. I’ve been trying to clear off the bulk of my client(s) work in case of a worst-case scenario here, but it occurred to me that I also need to cook  in case I am unable to feed us properly once getting home. If I weren’t so busy right now I might have time to be a little more scared than I am; as it is, I’ve got to stop spending selfish time here and get back into Photoshop. Wish me all kinds of luck getting to the weekend!

Leave a Reply

